Score?

Stories, News and General Yakking
PHPaul
Site Admin

Score?

Post by PHPaul » Fri May 29, 2020 5:11 pm

I've been tilling the garden for an older couple for several years. When I went over to till this Spring, she asked me if I'd be willing to do a couple of side jobs for them. They have a couple of dead trees they'd like cleaned up and they needed a bunch of stuff hauled to the dum...uh...I mean, transfer station.

I said I'd be happy to do that and went over today with my tractor with the forks and grapple on it as I knew some of the stuff that needed to go away was pretty big and heavy. Loaded up my 18 foot trailer with an 80 gallon cast iron water heater, an old dryer, doors, windows, bed frames, scrap metal and junk.

Then she said "There's some stuff out behind the shed that needs to go too." A Cub Cadet 33" walk behind mower with a dead engine, a BCS tiller likewise, a couple of propane tanks and the remnants of a couple wheel barrows.

Got all that stuff loaded which involved several trips past this:

Being a tractor junkie AND a packrat, I asked her about it. "Hasn't run in years, don't know what we're going to do with it."

I thought about it for a minute and said "I don't wish to offend anyone with a lowball offer, but I'd be willing to swap my labor, including the tree work, for that tractor."

She conferred with her husband and he agreed, so after I took the first load to the transfer station, I went back and got it. Satoh with a 4 cylinder Mitsubishi gas engine. Not running, missing the distributor (probably in one or another of the sheds around the place) but the engine is loose and the oil looks good. I may or may not be able to get it running but even if not, the rear tires and rims are worth at least what I was planning on charging them.